top of page

Blank Page

January 4th. Another new day for the new year. This morning I read a quote "Tomorrow is the first blank page of a 365 page book. Write a good one." I have been thinking about this quote all day as I moved through my day with he students. What would my book say? Would there be quotes in it? What would my students say? I am always telling my class that it is your actions that will speak louder than your words., So that leaves me to wonder.... "What are my actions saying?" Each interaction I have with my students should show them how much I care about them as a learner. I want them to grow and become stronger students, so am I showing them that as I interact. I feel like math today was that interaction. We are working on decimal division. I do not want to just show my kids the "remove the decimal and divide and then count the decimal places to put it in the answer" trick. I want my kids to be thinkers of math. Today was that day. We came up with such a great generalization about decimal division. The students figured out the following 2 statements:

"When the dividend is greater than the divisor, the quotient is greater than 1. When the dividend is less than the divisor the quotient is less than 1."

I was so excited as the students worked to then solve problems. Today, during math, I accomplished my goal. My actions did match my words. So, for most of today, my page would be full of positive comments. Lets hope tomorrow will be as well.


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Other Favotite PR Blogs
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page